Prime Minister, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad announced his new Cabinet this afternoon. Tun Dr Mahathir had earlier announced five cabinet ministers which included Lim Guan Eng as the Finance Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin as Home Minister and Mohammad Sabu as Defence Minister. Earlier today, Tun Dr Mahathir withdrew himself as the Education Minister to honour the ruling coalition Pakatan Harapan’s manifesto pledge for the General Elections. The portfolio will now be taken by Dr Maszlee Malik. Tun Dr Mahathir did not name a Foreign Minister. The full list of Cabinet ministers announced to date are as follows:

Prime Minister: Dr Mahathir Mohamad
Deputy Minister: Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail
Home Minister: Muhyiddin Yassin
Education Minister: Dr Maszlee Malik
Minister of Rural Development: Rina Harun
Minister of Women and Family Development: Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail
Minister of Economic Affairs: Mohamed Azmin Ali
Minister of Housing and Local Government: Zuraida Kamaruddin
Minister of Finance: Lim Guan Eng
Minister of Transport: Anthony Loke Siew Fook
Minister of Communications and Multimedia: Gobind Singh Deo
Minister of Human Resource: Kulasegaran V Murugeson
Minister of Defence: Mohamad Sabu
Minister of Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry: Salahuddin Ayub
Minister of Health: Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad

The Yang diPertuan Agong had consented to the names and the swearing in ceremony will be held on Monday morning at the Istana Negara.