Malaysia will tighten COVID-19 restrictions beginning 13 January 2021 in a renewed effort to combat the country’s rise of COVID-19 cases.

In a televised address Monday, Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said five states, including Penang, Selangor, Melaka, Johor and Sabah, and the federal territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan will be placed under Movement Control Order (MCO) again for two weeks until 26 January. Under the move, interstate travel will be banned across the country and travelling between districts is not allowed for the states under MCO. He said the move was necessary as the country’s healthcare system is at breaking point. Today, Malaysia recorded 2232 new cases bringing the number of active cases in the country to 28,554.

]The government has identified five sectors which are allowed to operate and categorised as essential economic sectors, which are manufacturing, construction, services, trade and distribution, and the plantation and commodities.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here